Homeschooling UK Curriculum – 5 Things To Know

British Curriculum or UK Curriculum is becoming the first choice for parents and students, especially when it comes to homeschooling. It is one of the internationally recognised curriculums that allows homeschooling students to participate in the world’s competitive education system. There are thousands of schools around the world that have recognised the benefits of the UK Curriculum and adopted to Cambridge curriculum or Pearson Edexcel. Here are the 5 things to briefly learn about UK Curriculum.

1. UK Qualification Pathway

UK Curriculum is available for all school levels starting from age 6 up to 19 years old. Following are the four schooling levels:
Levels Age Range
6 to 11 years old
Lower Secondary
11 to 14 years old
14 to 16 years old
A Level
16 to 19 years old
Each level offers a wide range of subjects that perfectly suits the learners’ needs.

2. UK Examinations

UK examinations are mainly conducted twice a year – the summer & winter series. Its summer series is usually held in May/June and the winter series is in Oct/Nov. Participants are required to enroll for exams before the issued due dates which are generally 4 months prior to the exam. Exam centres are approved schools allowed to conduct exams such as Jakarta Academics for Pearson Edexcel.

3. Exam Grading

The following gradings are explained specifically for the Pearson Edexcel exams.

Primary and Lower Secondary:

Edexcel International Awards in Primary Curriculum subjects are graded at three levels: P1, P2, and P3 where P3 is the HIGHEST achievement and P1 is the LOWEST. Below P1 is considered UNCLASSIFIED.

Our Edexcel International Awards in Secondary Curriculum subjects are graded at four levels: S1, S2, S3 and S4 where S4 is the HIGHEST achievement and S1 is the LOWEST. Below S1 is considered UNCLASSIFIED.

International GCSE:

Pearson Edexcel International GCSEs are awarded using the new nine-point grading scale (9–1), introduced by the UK government to raise standards and recognise top-performing students. The new grade 9 represents a new level of attainment and has been introduced to differentiate your top-performing students (A*). The bottom of grade 7 broadly aligns with the bottom of grade A. There’s greater differentiation in the middle of the scale, with three new grades 6, 5, and 4 rather than two grades (B and C). The bottom of grade 1 broadly aligns with the bottom of the grade G.

A Level:

Edexcel International A levels are modular qualifications made up of four or six separate units. You can complete individual units at different times throughout your course.

Usually, you’ll do half of the units in your first year of college or Grade 11 – this is your International AS level. You’ll then complete the remaining units in your second year of college or Grade 12 – this is your International A2.

  • International AS units are graded A to E.
  • International A2 units are graded A to E.
  • Final International A Level are graded A* to E.

If you don’t get enough marks to pass with an E you’ll be awarded a U, which means ‘unclassified’.

4. International Recognition

All UK qualifications are equally recognised by universities and education institutions regardless of the exam boards. UK qualifications are accepted by universities all over the world including top institutions in the UK, United States, Australia, Canada and Singapore.

5. Learning Benefits and Assessments

The British Curriculum focuses on a broad and balanced understanding of not only core subjects such as English, Mathematics and Science but also Arts and Humanities. It is very well organised in four key levels – Primary, Lower Secondary, IGCSE and A Level enabling students to continue their education in a systematic way. All UK and international qualifications are developed in line with the latest curriculum changes to ensure they are fit for purpose and continue to be recognised by universities and employers. Universities recognise and trust the quality of the UK qualifications and accept them as being comparable to nationally-recognised qualifications, offering excellence in learning and achievement.